Taking Risks, the French Kiss of Entrepreneurship

Erin Lynch
4 min readSep 21, 2018

I am generally a risk averse person…or at least I was up until about three years ago. Then I got serious about business, about running a studio, and about my need to work for myself. If you want a crash course in risk taking, the most direct route has to be by walking away from a secure job and hanging your entrepreneurship shingle out there for the world to see. If you’re considering working for yourself, plan on those decisions being a gateway to some of the most fear inspiring moments of your life.

Risk as Necessity

Risk is unfortunately, or fortunately depending on how you choose to look at it, part of becoming and being an entrepreneur. Risk takes you to the some of the highest points of apprehension and the lowest points of fear as you step completely outside your comfort zone on nothing more than a whim. Yet, when that risk results in success, it can be one of the most rewarding (and addicting) experiences you’ll come to know as a business owner.

Taking risks means opening yourself up to both success and failure. As I mentioned, when risk leads to success it can be close to intoxicating — failure, unfortunately, results in quite the opposite. But failure is a necessary part of the entrepreneurship process. You can’t have one without the other. And, in my experience, failure can provide the…

--

--

Erin Lynch

Designer, writer, pixel articulator, educator, and neurodivergent human. Subscribe to my newsletter, Past Tense, at erinlynch.substack.com